The Journey of Occavatra Book 1: The 13 Lords of Chaos Episode #20: A Frog & A Mirror

(Occavatra and Irene entered the Tower of Inversion, now on its side, through a crack made upon impact. The water was up to their knees, but the Chaos Portal did not short out.)

Occavatra: I don’t think I want to know what the tower looked like before it was inverted.

Irene: It’s hard to say for certain. Maybe if Escherion’s spell was broken, we’d probably know.

Occavatra: Technically, we’d have to destroy the evil wizard to break his spell. If not, then Chiral Valley won’t further suffer.

Irene: Then what’s stopping us now? This portal is the door to our final battle.

Occavatra: *looking at Irene.* Ladies first.

Irene: Nah uh. You’re stronger than me. You should go first.

Occavatra: So I guess courtesy is ruled out.

Irene: *smirking* Yep. *pushes Occavatra through the portal and follows suit by leaping through it. They land on each other, much to Escherion’s amusement.*

Occavatra: This is just great. Get your legs off of me.

Irene: *looking at Escherion.* Uh, oh. Gladly. *She gets off of him and helps him up as Escherion approaches them.*

Escherion: *sarcastically* How nice of you two to drop in after what you did to my precious tower!!!

Escherion: How dare you even squash my hydra!?? The Runix Cube is useless to me, thanks to you both!!!!

Occavatra: And, you have a sideways tower to dwell in. You’re welcome!

Irene: *shaking her fist.* And we’re here to take you down.

Escherion: Is that so? You both are not even a match for me without your little friend.

Occavatra: Why? What did you do to Cody?!?

Escherion: Nothing yet. When I expel you two from my domain again, I will mess with his weak human body and shape him into my most effective monster.

Occavatra: *aiming his blade at Escherion.* You’re going to have a mighty hard time kicking us out this round.

Escherion: *laughing* How your idle boasts crack me up, child. With you and what army do you intend to take me down with? (All of the sudden, an angry mob of Mobian villagers hop through the portal to face Escherion as well, much to the shock of all three people who were presently there.)

Irene: Oh, my goodness!

Occavatra: What are you doing? You’re putting yourselves in danger.

Villager 1: We’re well-aware that some of us won’t make it out alive, Occavatra.

Villager 2: But that doesn’t mean you should face Escherion alone. After all, Mobius is our home we’ve come to know and love.

Villager 1: You’re finished, Escherion!!! Pack up and leave before we make you!!!

Escherion: I thought you might say that. If this is what the majority wants, I’ll leave for good.

Occavatra: Really? *Irene looks suspicious.*

Escherion: *firing a laser from his Staff of Inversion.* Psyche! No, I’m not! *Occavatra and Irene move out of the laser’s path, only for it to hit the angry mob and turn the tables.*

Occavatra: That was too good to be true.

Irene: *sternly* You think?!

Corrupted Villagers: What we meant to come in here for is to help Escherion dispose of you both!!!!

Irene: That’s it, time to get turned inside out!!! (Both she and Occavatra charge at Escherion and attack him, however, when they strike a blow, it barely made a dent. Escherion chuckles while he fires an attack of his own.)

Occavatra: Oh, no. He’s invulnerable. Now how do we take him out? *Escherion launches a small blast, but it hits neither of the two. At that moment, Irene notices the Staff of Inversion floating by itself.*

Irene: We disable his staff. That’s how he feeds his power. *Occavatra smiles.*

screenshot6

Occavatra: I call his staff!

Irene: Staves are my thing! I want it!

Occavatra: Alright, then. You nab his staff, I’ll go get Escherion!

Escherion: *launches a chaotic spell that Occavatra, only for him to dodge it.* I grow tired of your presence here. Prepare to get inverted!

Occavatra: I didn’t come prepared at all. All I came here for is to knock you out! (Irene kicks down the staff and punches it multiple times. Occavatra slashes his sword at the Chaos Lord and he hits a wall. The duo exchange blows with one another while Irene struggles to keep the Staff of Inversion pinned down. Occavatra delivers a stabbing blow and Escherion kneels, defeated. Angered that he lost, he magnetizes his staff to him, which flips Irene off her feet.)

Escherion: *standing up* It looks like I clearly underestimated you, which is why now is a good time as ever to invert you!! (He fires a laser from the staff. Irene becomes horrified. She spots a mirror in the corner and grabs it.)

Irene: *tossing the mirror.* Hold it in your way quickly!!! (Occavatra catches it moments before the laser hit him. Instead, the laser redirected and hit Escherion. While he kneels confused, Occavatra and Irene glanced disoriented looks.*

Occavatra: Um, nothing’s happening.

Irene: *shrugging* It’s not uncommon for sorcerers to be immune to their own power.

Escherion: *gets up* Drat, I can’t even use chaos magic without inflicting myself. Oh, well. I’ll get back to the basics. (He launches ordinary mage attacks, but he ends up attacking himself because his spells got inverted. The duo just watch him, expecting something else to happen. Escherion casts another spell, but he turns himself into a frog instead, much to Occavatra’s joy.)

screenshot4

Occavatra: Hehe now you’re cute and harmless. *He picks up the frog and Irene salvages the staff.* You’re lucky I like frogs.

Irene: It’s not like you plan on squishing the creature anyway. It can’t do any harm anymore. *smiling* Speaking of which, the villagers are returning to normal. *Just as she said that, the corrupted villagers are cured, but dazed.*

Villager 1: Gee, what happened?

Villager 3: The last thing I remember was entering this tower and I do not know why now. It’s so empty.

Irene: Attention, villagers. *They turn around.* With Escherion out of the picture, Mobius is back in your hands. (The villagers applaud and together, they cheered and held a small parade to celebrate the defeat. Occavatra and Irene picked up Cody and they joined in on the celebration. Unfortunately, even with the Staff of Inversion, Escherion’s magic did not go away easily. His chaotic influence was too strong. Nevertheless, Occavatra hopes that one day, it will be fixed. He, Cody, and Irene go back to Battleon and sit on the edge of a cliff.)

Occavatra: Well, you two, one froggy Chaos Lord down. Twelve to go. *tickles Escherion’s chin.*

Irene: And I got a cool new staff. It’s stronger than my first one, but it takes some getting used to.

Cody: You guys are lucky. I didn’t get anything out of this experience.

Irene: Oh, Cody. *takes the Runix Cube out of her bag.* You can have this. Maybe it will hold other untold power than summoning a three-headed water snake.

Cody: *takes the cube* Thank you. It still has its glows. Taking down Chaos Lords has its perks.

Occavatra: Yeah, for sure. There’s a world to save and treasure to find.

screenshot5

Occavatra: big adventures await beyond these hills.

Irene: And we’ll always be there every step of the way.

Occavatra: Of course. We’re friends. We’ll always be by each other’s side. (And so, they watched over the hills as the sun rises into the sky and the trio wonder who Drakath has chosen for his next Chaos Lord. Just like they have finished their chapter, I have concluded this portion of my chapter on the AQW fansite. With every ending comes a new beginning.)

 

Until next time;

-Occavatra

About Occavatra

I am a resourceful former AQW Ambassador who is a Castlevania fanatic and moderator of AdventureQuest Worlds and EpicDuel. I currently have a game in the making. You may see me contribute to Dragonpedia and Lorepedia time and again. I collect gems to train dragons and lead a team of bug hunters for AQ Dragons. I scour AE's websites for gremlins as a Web QA team member. I'm also a student studying digital media at a school surrounded by mountains.

Leave a comment