The Chronicles of Lore – Geek’s Journey, Part 3

*After mourning the loss of the great Vampire queen, preparing her troops, and rising from the dead (multiple times) Ellonnah found a moment of time to sit down, relax, and continue the story of Geek in a quiet, candlelit setting decided she would never find a quiet moment to continue the legend of Optional Geek. She summoned her quill and book, having them float gently above her as an onslaught of undead moved toward her. Her staff glowed bright as she shot spell after spell at them, gracefully twirling and spinning, dodging arrows and daggers. She began shouting and telling the next part of Geek’s legend and the quill swiftly took note of each detail. So it continues…*

 

*As Told By Geek*

 

I remember running out through the rubble and exiting the skeletal remains of the now fallen dracolich. I had managed to retrieve my spear from the armory, thank goodness the fall busted the door to it. There was fire, screaming… I had flashbacks to the maiden in the village. My head ached from, oh, I’m not sure what, even to this day: the knowledge crammed into my noggin, or the crack against my cell wall. Perhaps a mix of both. I walked for days, surviving on a canteen of water from a fallen soldier, and what food I could catch with my spear.

I was hung over and dizzy by the time I reached the lake south of Doomwood. I washed the blood from my hair, and dirt from my face, scrubbed my clothing and hung them while I rested in the cool waters. I looked about and noticed it, at last. purple tentacle infesting the trees, often having green eyes attached. They seemed to watch my every move.

Chaos.

The word flashed through my mind. I recalled memories I shouldn’t have of a dark man called Drakath, his wicked twin sidekicks, and a battle between the King and Emperor. I thought, Could I be dreaming? But, I didn’t feel like I was dreaming. I cautiously got out of the water, let the cool air dry me and dressed before heading east.

Greenguard was beautiful. Sunshine leaved through canopies of rich, green leaves, and animals scurried about everywhere. I followed the path to Battleontown, and found myself having a drink at Yulgar’s Inn. I sat at a corner table with my moglinberry juice and listened in on the story a girl was telling to a bunch of hunters and soldiers of a lost city she supposedly was princess of. I scoffed quietly and finished my drink. As I gave a coin to Yulgar, the bells began to toll… the bells of battle.

I made it out before the crowd trampled me, and made my way into the thick of battle, combining the skills of weaponry from Byron with the agility and balance from Kage. I wasn’t well protected, and I got a bit carried away. A skeleton had sliced my abdomen. I retreated to the center of town where the girl and some other clerics were healing the wounded. “Excuse–” She pushed me out of the way and brilliantly healed a soldier who looked like Death himself stood before him. Another cleric came to me.

“Hello, sit.” she said hurriedly. “This will only hurt a bit, I promise.” She put a salve over my would and muttered an incantation. The wound closed slowly but left no scar. She left without a word, and I returned to battle. There were overwhelming numbers and the fight began to look bleak. A bright light illuminated the town brighter than the sun itself, and a shout rang through the air from atop the Inn. The light flashed, blinding me and shaking the earth below. After it seemed to be over, I opened my eyes and blinked away the spots floating before me in time to look up at the balcony of the Inn and see her collapse. I rushed through the doors and raced through to help her. She was exhausted and breathing heavily. I poked her with the blunt end of my spear. “Miss? Miiiisss?” She groaned and her eyes fluttered open. I smiled, “Need a hand, miss?” I extended my arm and she took it, dusting off her dress. ““The name is Geek, well, OptionalGeek. But you can call me Geek.”

“Ellonnah, but Ell, please,” she replied. She rubbed her hand and I carefully lead her downstairs. I put a couple coins on the counter and helped us to some juice while she sat down. I told her what I saw and she told me about the attack at Swordhaven. We discussed our lack of plans and opted to journey together through Lore and figure out this new invasion of Chaos.

About Ellonnah

Blogger and gamer, mommy and wife, product tester, virtual Princess of Lore.

Leave a comment